Electrician Talk banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an industrial maintenance student and had a question on a test that asked what the NEC states maximum motor starter coil voltage is. The correct answer was 120 vac but I looked it up in the NEC and couldn't find it. I asked the instructor and he also said he hasn't seen it published either. The test was written by the former instructor. Has anyone else heard or seen this?

·
Bilge Rat
motors and controls.........
8,464 Posts
That's the dumbest question I've ever seen!!

If the answer is indeed true, then I've violated it about a hundred zillion times.......

I've installed plenty of starters with 480 coils, and I'd bet that the Canadian guys have done tons of 600 volt ones.

A lot of larger starters come from the factory with 480 coils and an interposing relay with a 120 coil.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well I've researched everywhere I know to look and haven't seen anything that remotely comes close to even referring to that. Beats the hell outa me where he come up with that, lol.

·
Registered
1,437 Posts
Aaaaahhhhh. The days of 480 volt control and no neutral for troubleshooting. I watched my boss get hit with a 480 control circuit. One of the sharpest control guys I'd ever seen too. He didn't wanna talk about.

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
Never !! Just kidding , well not really I have saw a lot of 600 control circ, but not more than once per job. I change the control to 120 as repairs are needed .
I have a old fertilizer plant I do maintenance at and everything is 600v /347.
Thankfully it's a fertilizer plant not much lasts very long in that environment.
Makes it easy to find a reason to change elect equipment when most things look 50 yrs old,when it's really 5.

·
Registered
2,916 Posts