Electrician Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm currently a 2nd year apprentice in Arkansas and I'm looking to move to the Vancouver, Washington area sometime next year. My goal is to test for the 02 Residential Journeyman license and move shortly after I get it.

If I'm understanding it right, I need 4,000 on the job training hours and 24 hours of classroom time. I also know I need to send in a lot of paperwork and notarized documentation proving all of this.

In Arkansas, apprentices need 160 hours of school each year. I'm currently somewhere around 200 hours of classroom time so I believe I have that covered. I have around 3200-3300 hours of OJT and I believe I'll hit 4,000 in the first 2 months of 2020.

Does anyone know what I can expect through this process or anything I should be working on now? How picky is the Washington electrical board when reviewing these types of applications; are they extremely strict and go through them looking to deny over the smallest thing or are they more on the lenient side and may let a few minor issues pass?

What is the Washington 02 journeyman test like? In Arkansas my residential journeyman test would be over the 2017 NEC, 60 questions and 3 hours. How tough is the Washington specific test? Is there a book or somewhere online I can use to study for it?

·
Registered
6,758 Posts
Pass the test. Then look at moving. You don't want to put yourself in a jam.

Reactions: telsa

·
Registered
433 Posts
Here in Washington if they will reciprocate with your card it’s pretty simple. You either will get a supervisory card till everything is in order and approved or they will just have you take the test here to prove your knowledge. But either way you will want to pass your test there first.