Electrician Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not an electrician, I am a writer. I grew up in the electrical wholesaling business. I am writing about a speculative cable deal of my father’s back in the late 1940’s.
He bought a huge amount of surplus electric cable from the Navy on the assumption, a correct one, that copper prices were in a deep trough.
Copper prices shot up. He was selling off the cable steadily and profitably, when New York City announced its Ashokan reservoir project. He then sold all the cable that remained to the the reservoir project to electrify the work on the 100-mile water tunnel from the reservoir to the city.
Questions:

It was not BX, so it had to be Romex, yes?
I can only guess what gauge it was: I’m thinking 8/2. Does that make sense?
I remember a great number of huge reels, 20 or 30 of them, 5 or 6 feet in diameter (but I was a kid, so maybe that’s an exaggeration) stacked in the warehouse. Would Romex have been wound on huge wooden reels like that?
Could it have been UF-B? Had UF-B been introduced by then?
I may have some of the details wrong. Any obvious snags in the story?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hmmm. I was lugging coils of Romex in the 1950's. (Easier than lugging BX.) Found this under General Cable History: 1922 - Invented Romex® Brand* non-metallic sheathed cable at the company's Rome, New York, facility. Couldn't find a start date for UF.

·
felonious smile.
15,934 Posts
I'm pretty sure it was not Romex, the navy wouldn't be using that.knowing the government and their wacky specs it must have been some type of rhw/xhhw insulation.

Sent from my C5215 using electriciantalk.com mobile app

·
felonious smile.
15,934 Posts
Its probably a 10/2 se cable with a poly over coat. I have seen this stuff used in public works and streetlights from the late 40s through early 50s

Sent from my C5215 using electriciantalk.com mobile app

·
Registered
3 Posts