Electrician Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been using my very old NEC book for 20 years or more. Now I just got a hold of a 2005 NEC book. Looking at Article 725, it completely changed, or so it appears. There used to be a table designating the maximum power, volts, amps, etc for each of the classes. that table is now gone. I read most of the article and I can't find anywhere where it states the criteria for Class 2 Circuits (volts, amps, inherently limited power, etc) Where does it explain what a Class 2 circuit is?

Again, I'm talking about the 2005 NEC book right now. I do not have the newer NEC books.

·
Salty Member
31,081 Posts
I've been using my very old NEC book for 20 years or more. Now I just got a hold of a 2005 NEC book. Looking at Article 725, it completely changed, or so it appears. There used to be a table designating the maximum power, volts, amps, etc for each of the classes. that table is now gone. I read most of the article and I can't find anywhere where it states the criteria for Class 2 Circuits (volts, amps, inherently limited power, etc) Where does it explain what a Class 2 circuit is?

Again, I'm talking about the 2005 NEC book right now. I do not have the newer NEC books.
It is on page 70–639 (or at least it is in my pdf of it)

I think it was moved to the back with the tables as it is really not part of the code.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Class 2 XFMR Question

1) So if a transformer meets the requirements of Class 2, but is NOT listed as "Class 2", is it a Class 2 device even though it carries no listing from the mfr?

2) Is a transformer with no built in circuit breaker or overcurrent protection considered an "inherently limited power source" ? I would think the answer is no.