Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am only a second year apprentice so I am not looking to buy a fluke 325 quite yet, but would like one relatively close to the accuracy so that I don't have to repurchase one until I am much further in my field.

·
Freelance Member
1,370 Posts
Make sure it's a fluke and it's rms.

Pay the money now. It will last you a career if you want it to.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
There are none that come close to being as accurate? I don't buy junk normally everything of mine has been Klein so far for hand tools but I noticed their meters are from China which I was not interested in.

·
Registered
272 Posts
My last meter was a sperry. Ghost voltage, hard to see, decimal would jump randomly. If you need a good meter, buy one. If not, use your j.mans. It's just to important of a tool to cut corners on.

·
Lucky to be Alive
345 Posts
Felandro said:
There are none that come close to being as accurate? I don't buy junk normally everything of mine has been Klein so far for hand tools but I noticed their meters are from China which I was not interested in.
If you are looking for a non-China meter, you are out of luck. All Fluke clamps are made in China or Taiwan too. I've held the 320 series, and they are built very cheap. You need to buy the 370 series for a better clamp, but be prepared to pay big for those.

Fluke only makes a couple of DMM's in the USA now ( not all). Everything thing else is China and Taiwan.

·
Estwing magic
26,767 Posts
Hate to say it but a basic Klown clamp meter will get you through for a couple of years. Then spend the bucks on something like a 376. We don't do much industrial work anymore but some sites don't allow anything less than Cat lll, 1000V.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·