Electrician Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, im an auto electrician. Fairly new to the trade. I am wiring a set of auto-folding mirrors.

The mirrors are wired up so when the ignition is on, they fold out, and when ignition off, they fold in.

Each case they will get constant 12v. Obviously the polarity will be reversed to operate the motor in reverse to fold the mirrors and then polarity changed again so that the motor unfolds. (using DPDT relay for this)

THE PROBLEM:
As the mirrors will be getting constant 12v 24/7, i need some sort of switch or something that cuts the current/voltage when the mirrors are fully folded and unfolded. What can i use?

Before there was something inside that use to click after few seconds when mirrors fully unfolded or folded. I used a multimeter in parralel to the test circuit and it droped when mirrors folding/unfolding and when fully extracted/retracted, after click the voltage went back up. The clicking has stoped, therefore i beleive something has gone bust.

Thanks

·
Super Moderator
Licensed Electrical Contractor
11,794 Posts
This site is mainly construction related electric. Someone may be able to help, but this is not our forte.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
lol nah, nothing to do with control modules. i made it abit complicated making it seem "automotive"

basically. Say i use an electric motor and after spining 90degrees clockwise or anti-clokwise, a mechanism stops it from turning any further.

But the problem is the motor will still be getting constant voltage, but the "stop" forcing the axis from spinning. This in turn could burn out the motor.

So i need something that stops the current/voltage when its at the 90degree point. asin something i could put inline between the motor and the power wires themselves.

Any ideas?! Thanks

·
I own stock in FotoMat!
39,115 Posts