Electrician Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
good morning folks. I should have written an intro before launching into a footwear dilemma, so here it goes.

I am in my early 30s and decided I need to send my career in a different direction. I have a degree in Journalism that took me no where except to one really boring job where they paid me way too much money to work about five hours a week and spend the rest of my time in a dark cubicle surfing the internet. I was laid off, much to my relief, and wound up getting a job in a bicycle shop, which fits my passion for cycling and for diagnostics and mechanical work.

I have been working in bicycle shops for the past five years and moved to Austin to be closer to family about nine months ago. Since moving, I have been unable to find a job what will employ me full-time doing this. The future is pretty bleak for professional bicycle mechanics- most of us face a low ceiling for income. You just have to love it enough to be willing to accept low wages or be one of the few who can run a service shop and get paid a lot more.

As someone who has been married for ten years and is about to buy a house next month (real estate in Austin ain't cheap!), I decided to move on to a career I can sink my teeth into and something with a more steady paycheck (I hope). I love the diagnostics aspect of my current work and I hate sitting in an office all day. I would rather throw myself into something with lots of hard work than get paid to pretend to work, so no office jobs for me. Many of my relatives have been electricians or worked in similar fields, my dad is commercial architect and my brother builds industrial robots, so it seems to be in my blood.