Electrician Talk banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me start off by saying I'm not an electrician. I am however an EE, and installed a sub panel or two. I'm likely pushing a bit out of DIY territory here, so I'll try this thread here.

I'm a soon to be homeowner. I'm not terribly happy with the panel thats installed in the home, its an older CH CH, has some light corrosion, stripped screws holding the cover on, and its full. 200A service, I'm going to be putting a tankless electric water heater in that requires 3x 40A DP's. I intend to run that off a CH CH subpanel. 125A breaker off the main load center, into 1 AWG THHN to a 125A CHCH panel with the 3x 40A DP's for the water heater.

I intend to run 3x 1AWG copper (black) THHN from HD through metal conduit to the sub panel with a #6 ground and tape the neutral line white. Any problems here? Sub panel will be unbonded. I most likely will run 3 separate flexible conduit into the water heater with 3x8AWG copper. The water heater only has one small knockout on it, and you're somehow supposed to get 9 8 AWG wires into it. Does NEC allow 6 conductors + 3 grounds in one run of conduit?