Electrician Talk banner

New Member With A Question

313 Views 3 Replies 2 Participants Last post by  trailscout
Hi. I am not an electrician. If I understood correctly, new members could join in order to ask questions? Hopefully I won't get booted for not being an actual electrician.

That said, thank you to admin for allowing me to join.

In my search for an answer, I came upon an old thread on this site dating back to 2011. The problem concerned submersible stock water trough heaters. There was a few tenths of a volt between the water and an earth ground. Adding a ground did not reduce the voltage.

The thread went on for 7 pages, some of which I understood and some I was uncertain of. At one point the thought was the ground wire had current on it. The thread starter tried a 3/2 plug and the current to ground disappeared. The device has a thermostat on it and I'm not sure he checked to see that the heater was on when he tried the 3/2 plug.

At any rate, when I tried a 3/2 plug, the water to earth ground voltage did not disappear.

I then searched for construction of these devices. They are a resistance coil inside a cast aluminum housing with the coil packed with a non conductive powder that does transmit heat.

And now my question: Is it possible that the 1250 watt coil could be inducing eddy currents on the surface that would produce a voltage from the water to earth ground?

Here's a picture of the heater in question.

Edit: I'm in Northern Arizona

Thanks, Harold

Gas Nickel Circle Metal Aluminium
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
More perplexing info:

Just went out and did some more testing.

1. Put the heater in a trough that had ice to be certain the thermostat remained on.

2. For chuckles, measured the current from water to ground and from the 3/2 plug tab to ground which of course were the same at 0.2 volts AC.