Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there to all. Kodi here out of Richmond Virginia.A shot in the dark but I am sure someone out there may have the right answer for me. I am a 6 year military veteran just recently released after my term. I am an Electronics Technician/Electrician with 6 years experience working with all different types of electronics and electrical systems. I have hands on experience installing, maintaining, troubleshooting, and repairing anything from basic voltage distribution systems (120VAC single phase to 440VAC 3Phase) to advanced missile launching and detection systems. I have 84 college credits of which 90% are Electrical/Electronics rated and still yet for some reason I cannot get a job in the Richmond,VA area because I am not a Journeyman. I have applied with numerous electrical contractors in the area and have made it clear I understand there are the NEC regulations among other things I am unfamiliar with when it comes to residential/commercial/industrial electricity. I have only been asking for a position as an Apprentice. Although I feel that I will learn quickly since I do already have an education in a very similar field I do not want to stretch anything and would be happy with a job in a field I enjoy. Does anyone have any information that may be helpful or quite possibly an explanation that may help me understand why I cannot get a job.

·
Registered
12,412 Posts
New and looking for assistance

Sounds like a parallel of my life after the military. However, if you go the the VA they would supply you with a counselor. That is what I did and when I did land an apprenticeship they showed me how to get paid by the contractor and draw VA benefits, as well. I hope the Veterans Administration is STILL working for the EX GIs. Good luck.

·
Chairman of the Bored
9,779 Posts