Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im trying to land an apprenticeship right now with a non union shop. Im wondering how often you non union guys get tested after the initial screen. It is my understanding that union drug testing is a lot more harsh. I can pass right now no problem just wondering if its something I will have to worry about for the length of my career. I appreciate any helpful information.

·
Registered
310 Posts
I have been an apprentice for about 6 months have yet to take a single test. I work for a small family business, and my mom best friends brother owns it. I also was a truck driver and subject to DOT regs before hiring on. I asked them about a test and back ground check and I was told that with my past employment they trusted me. But if I'm injured I will get tested that day. Ymmv.

·
Registered
171 Posts
Wow. If a company wants to pay me to piss in a cup every day, let them. If you dont have anything to hide, relax. Eventually a person gets to a point in their life when they need to become an adult and assume the role as a resposible, somewhat "law abiding" citizen. I might not always agree with them but I do have to abide by them. If a company sets certain standards for employment, we must abide by them. We choose who we work for!

·
Registered
12,167 Posts
So what happens if you live/work in Colorado? State says weed is legal, and the Federal government says it's not legal (but is not enforcing the law, thereby setting a precedent for it's overturn).

Does a contractor in Colorado terminate someone for smoking weed when it's legal there?

·
Registered
2,923 Posts
So what happens if you live/work in Colorado? State says weed is legal, and the Federal government says it's not legal (but is not enforcing the law, thereby setting a precedent for it's overturn).

Does a contractor in Colorado terminate someone for smoking weed when it's legal there?