Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

I would like to get an idea of wages in the NY Metro Area (non-union). I'm just starting out and was offered $10/hr w/o any benefits. Does that seem reasonable?

What can one expect to earn around here in 0-2 years? 3-5 yrs? Beyond that?

Thanks,

Nicomn

·
Chairman of the Bored
9,774 Posts
Hi Everyone,

I would like to get an idea of wages in the NY Metro Area (non-union). I'm just starting out and was offered $10/hr w/o any benefits. Does that seem reasonable?

Thanks,

Nicomn
A green helper here in Atlanta can fetch $8-10. Don't help you too much being up there but you might call around to other EC's and check to see what they offer. If you have aqny prior construction experience, that's a plus.

·
Super Moderator
Licensed Electrical Contractor
11,797 Posts
Damn, I started on LI as a green helper @ $8/hr.....22 years ago.

Up here helpers make in the $10-$15 range.

·
Registered
220 Posts
I started at $2.10 per hr in 1966. JIW scale in 1969 was $7.81 or $7.84 plus benifits I can't remember which.

·
292 Posts
I agree with Frasbee-$10 is a good starting $$. Work hard and show up on time and you will be up to $12 after the first month.My nephew just got into L25,I think he started like $23 per hr.That may be low not sure.

·
NJ-IEC
14,387 Posts
Just be glad you have a foot in the door and don't look at the salary.

Learn as much and as fast as you can, THEN you can write your own ticket to making top dollar :thumbsup:
That's good advice.

I have a friend, late 20's, started doing electrical a year ago - didn't know anything about electrical at all - but he showed up each day ON TIME and did what he was asked to do. Now after only a year he is up from $10.00 an hour to $15.00 an hour. That's a 50% increase in 12 months. Not bad.

·
Bababoee
9,187 Posts