Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
If failed to concise my problem in the title, I ordered surface mount fixtures for a garage and received fixtures with a sticker on the back *not approved for surface mount.* I was pretty upset but was wondering what could be the safety risk.

The fixtures are stonco 4 lamp 54w t5ho hibays. (TBN454EB18) I see no reason why it cannot be surface mounted, they have standoffs seemingly designed for surface mounted purposes.
http://www.stonco.com/uploads/library/Spec/TBN.pdf

Is it because of the heat the ballast produces?

The most important question: What, if any, safety concerns are there if I surface mount these fixtures? I feel that it just wasn't UL listed for that purpose, and no safety concerns exist, but I am just a apprentice on his first real side job.

·
Salty Member
31,081 Posts
I must be strange but my first thought would be return them and get the right fixtures.

If the fixture has a label that says not for surface mounting I am not going to mount them on the surface.

BTW, it's great to see the results of union training paying off and the likely illegal side jobbing being done.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I must be strange but my first thought would be return them and get the right fixtures.

If the fixture has a label that says not for surface mounting I am not going to mount them on the surface.

BTW, it's great to see the results of union training paying off and the likely illegal side jobbing being done.

thank you I appreciate your helpful, up building post. I am in the process of returning them, but your post doesn't answer the question of why are they not suitable for surface mount when it seems plain that the fixture housing is designed to.

·
Registered
3,871 Posts
Sorry, can't help you, and don't want to.