Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
Metering technician for utility company
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please excuse my ignorance. I'm a bit new at this. I have only done one panel upgrade and the house had like 3 circuits in it. It was pretty easy. If I'm upgrading a panel with multiple circuits (100 to 200 amp) what's the process? Is it as simple as having utility disconnect in morning, install new panel, connect existing ckts to new panel. Or take ckts back and splice in a junction box? I guess each circumstance is different. Also, where does the inspection take place if you are disconnecting reconnecting the same day?

·
Registered
93 Posts
As you stated it all depends.
I've replaced panels where all the wires were long enough to reterminate.
I've replaced panels where most of the wires were long enough, but some made into the panel box, but just a bit short.
Spliced in panel so wires would reach.
Then I've done panels where I had to install a junction box in the attic and install new home runs to there.

Depending on the authority having jurisdiction or the utility company other things come into play.
I've done panels where the power company pulled the meter, I installed the new panel,
called them to say I'm done, the power company looked it over, plugged meter back in.
Typically this was done out in the county, no permit required, but an inspection had to be done by the authority having jurisdiction, in this case the utility company.

I've done panels where the entire service had to be upgraded and brought up to current codes.
Old style gooseneck service mounted on eve, installed a through the roof service mast.
Service damaged during hurricane Ike.
Typically inside the city limit, permit required, city inspection prior to utility powering the service back up.
If a residence, people are living in, the utility will power up a service " temporarily" pending inspection.

That last one was on my parent's house, the one I grew up in.