Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
328 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I never have enough pockets, and the pants I am using wear out in the knees and the pockets. Is there something you have found that works?

·
Registered
353 Posts
Carpenter pants and knee pads.

Reactions: MechanicalDVR

·
Registered
1,664 Posts
My work pants usually wear out in the thigh area and pockets. I think it's caused by me wiping my hands on those areas instead of using rags. We work with all types of chemicals such as solvents and stuff and it gets on those areas and could be part of the reason they wear out prematurely. I could only imagine if I was a pool contractor. Maybe some scotch guard would help.

·
Registered
Ready Mix concrete plant electrician
2,064 Posts
Dickies relaxed straight leg cargo pants. $30 will buy you a pair that ought to last a year or so. The flex fit version is also pretty nice.

·
Estwing magic
25,671 Posts
I’m telling you guys, support small business USA, not some big corporation that makes crap shipped from half way across the globe. Buy Kuhl and you’ll throw your Carhartts in the dumpster. Their quality is outstanding. My Ryder jacket was so nice some asshole stole it. It was after hours and he walked past power tools to steal wire and my jacket. 🙁

·
Premium Member
19,203 Posts
I never have enough pockets, and the pants I am using wear out in the knees and the pockets. Is there something you have found that works?
What kind of work do you guys do?
I have Levi’s that are over10 years old. I only survey them due to them being faded from washing 520 times.

·
Dope-less Hope Fiend
electrician
682 Posts
I'd say these are the best all around I have found, Round House bib overalls:

Round House Made in USA Bib Overalls. American Made for 112 Years.

If you like to stuff your pockets, the most important thing is not more pockets to hold more stuff, but straps to hold them up.