Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been a Maintenence Electrician for 11 years now at a 100 employee Union factory doing everything from installing new machines from scratch running power and control wiring as well as plc installation and programming to new lighting, receptacles, replacing motors, troubleshooting ect.
Wisconsin just passed law that we need to be certified so two of us went back to tech school for NEC and got our Journeyman's card. We will be going back this summer again to get Masters. I should have went for that initially, but the other guy only had 5 years in at the time so we both went for Journeyman's. Two of the 30+ year electricians retired within the last 5 years. We never had a licensed Electrician in house. The Electrical Parts rep we buy from weekly has been a licensed master for 20+ years and allways helped us when needed. There are only 3 of us in house, one per shift and new guy going on 3 years now is on 3rd shift.
Our contract is coming up this fall and with the licensing changes and a lot of added automation and job cuts lately we are going to be asking for a raise. We are currently making $23.92hr after a 4 year internal on the job training program.
We are thinking of asking to rework the current 4 step yearly pay increase to base rate, after 2 years, Journeyman, Master.
We typicly take home $60-$65k yr, but thats with lots of overtime after the standard 8hr day 40hr week.​

Does anyone here have a similar union factory electrician job, and if so, how much do you make per hour?
We don't really know how much to ask for, but if this is any indication, our general labor and lift truck operators make $19.16hr and there definitely isn't enough seperation between these unskilled jobs and ours.
The problem is there are more unskilled workers asking for $ amount pay raises every time instead of % raises.​

What would you ask for if you were us?​

Thanks​

·
Registered
11,429 Posts