Electrician Talk banner

Photovoltaic and the future of the electrical industry

4K views 39 replies 21 participants last post by  captkirk 
#1 ·
I used that title because I hope this to be a weigh in post, and hopefully there will be lots of opinions.
I am a licensed electrician. However, I mostly do HVAC and refrigeration work. I am licensed in that too. I do a lot of electrical troubleshooting from the controls all the way back to the meter base. I have usually been advised that there are a lot of electricians out there in the field that really don't care for troubleshooting and reading schematics.
I can see that. There are a lot of different avenues to persue in the business from pipe bender to engineer and salesman.

What I am wondering though is who is going to install these solar photovoltaic systems, and probably more importantly who is going to service them if troublshooting is indeed becoming a lost art or is at least shunned by some electricians. We know a licensed electrician is going to have to install them and service them per code. Heck, it is a felony in nc to do electrical work on someone elses property if you aren't licensed.

I guess what I am asking in addition to the general discussion of these systems is if this is an avenue of the business that young electricians like myself need to gear up for, or is it a fad like in the early 80's with the solar panel hot water systems? And if it needs to be pursued, how does an electricain go about doing so?

These systems from what I see are coming, and the HVAC manufacturers are jumping on the band wagon and gearing up their units to work on this type energy. That should be good for the electricians I would think, but at the same time I don't know exactly just how licensing is needed in a building in regards to DC voltage. Hopefully someone can shed some light on that too.

See less See more
#3 · (Edited)