Electrician Talk banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I have been an IBEW 702 Electrician since 2003, I have been fortunate enough to obtain an Associates of Applied Science degree in Industrial Electronics and am 1 year away from a B.S. in Electronic Systems Technologies, in which my 3 major options are "Automation and Control," "Biomedical Technologies," and "Networking and Communication Systems." Also I have 1 year accomplished in Business Administration. My dilemma is that I would like to become an Electrical Design Engineer, or Electrical Designer, who lays out the prints, calculations, etc. I do not think that the EST B.S. would help me get this position. I need to know some opinions of what exactly I would need to do to become qualified for this type of position. Are their MEP Architectural Cad certificates? One year certificates in CAD? And what are the most desired One year Occupational Certificates for Electricians/Technicians/I and E Technicians.

·
RIP 1959-2015
39,618 Posts
As I have been an IBEW 702 Electrician since 2003, I have been fortunate enough to obtain an Associates of Applied Science degree in Industrial Electronics and am 1 year away from a B.S. in Electronic Systems Technologies, in which my 3 major options are "Automation and Control," "Biomedical Technologies," and "Networking and Communication Systems." Also I have 1 year accomplished in Business Administration. My dilemma is that I would like to become an Electrical Design Engineer, or Electrical Designer, who lays out the prints, calculations, etc. I do not think that the EST B.S. would help me get this position. I need to know some opinions of what exactly I would need to do to become qualified for this type of position. Are their MEP Architectural Cad certificates? One year certificates in CAD? And what are the most desired One year Occupational Certificates for Electricians/Technicians/I and E Technicians.