Electrician Talk banner

Plug strip installation

8K views 23 replies 10 participants last post by  DeepOne 
#1 ·
When you guys add a plug strip to an existing outlet.
How do you make the connections?
I've been doing this the same way for some time and wonder if there is a better method.
I know I get one shot at the cut lengths or the outlets don't go back in there sockets well at all.

Here are some pics of one I did today.

Attachments

See less See more
#3 · (Edited)
I must say, not to patronize but to appreciate, that is nice work Tab.
Except for the DeWalt drill motor, ha

Why the leatherman pliers instead of a pair of needlenose? And do you like those Klein strippers over Ideal's? (all I've ever used are Ideal's). Also that shortened Checkpoint level, do you prefer that for any reason?

If you haven't noticed I have little to no experience with plugmold, hope you didn't mind....

Edit; also I noticed you make your butt splices with one crimp at 90 degrees to the other... I always did them on the same plane, though I was never taught either/any way.....?

#6 ·
When I'm coming in the end of Plugmold, I use the V2010 end entrance fitting and little orange wire nuts fit inside. When I'm coming in the middle, I use a V2048 box with a blank cover to house the splice and run the Plugmold out each side. The V2048 box has 2000 series twist-outs the same way the 5748's do for 500/700. Your method (Tab) will probably last forever and ever too.

#7 ·
I never thought of putting in a box then running 2 pieces.
I do not like splicing inside like that, pain in the azz.
I have PT'd (buchanan) them before, that's probably a better splice.

The leatherman is out just because it is on my hip virtually 24-7, Habit.
The strippers I love, they have a spring but also a lock for sticking them in your pouch. I don't wear a tool pouch but have a small pocket pouch that I just clip on my belt. holds:

Dikes
strippers
magnet in bottom with misc. screws, ground clips, few wire nuts