Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
808 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
Yes

When I was an EMT (looked like it was one of the medics on the ground at the end, yes?), the first rule was.....save YOURSELF first. Medic or not, I can't believe nobody bothered to ask if the wires they were all walking around had been de-energized.
Yes, I believe he was an EMT that pulled up in the van, and agree with you.

·
Electric Al
4,823 Posts
While the first responders should know better, the utility guys should have never let any of those people be in that area.
I agree ... this includes the (Know It All) cops !

I have personally been called out to an accident , where a vehicle was sitting on a 600 volt three phase pump control station ( demolished ).

The cops where there when I got there and they had called a tow truck .

The cops where ordering the tow truck driver to pull the wreck off the demolished equipment !

Almost got my head bit off when I asked if the poco had disconnected .

I had to argue with them to stay away from the wreck until the poco arrived !

They did not like being told . When the poco arrived they told the cops the same thing I had told them .

They had not even thought of the possible danger !

SO THEY APOLOGISED TO ME ..... YEAH RIGHT !

·
Retired Account
39,697 Posts
We watched an unconscious overturned truck driver into energized lines bleed out and die waiting for the poco:(

It's a really hard thing to do when you're trained to SAVE lives

so what's your solution Joe?

inquiring minds & future responders are ALL ascii ears

~CS~

·
Registered
3,838 Posts
We watched an unconscious overturned truck driver into energized lines bleed out and die waiting for the poco:(

It's a really hard thing to do when you're trained to SAVE lives

so what's your solution Joe?

inquiring minds & future responders are ALL ascii ears

~CS~