Electrician Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am having a problem with an ATS that is tied in to a corner grounded delta system from utility power. When 1 pump is running, generator works like a champ. When 2 pumps are running, the ATS is constantly switching between utility and generator power. I am new to this kind of wiring system and am, first off, wondering exactly how and why it is set up like that. Also, I am wondering if it would have any effect on our control panel. Our readings were A-N 480 B-N 42 C-N 480. From my understanding, it should read 0 at B-N. However, we are getting some ghost voltage from a random source. Would this have any effect on our control panel as far as the sensing and maintaining the power source? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

·
Banned
16,095 Posts
I'm also wondering if your generator is properly sized? Maybe the ATS is dropping out on undervoltage when the second pump closes in?

-John
I was thinking the exact same thing. The second pump seems to be the cause of the problem. I would turn off the first pump and isolate the second pump and run it on the generator, and see what happens.

·
animal lover /rat bastard
13,547 Posts
what kind of ATS is it ? Does it have any software that you can diagnose with ?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·