Electrician Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in need of some advice... I am a time served industrial electrician, qualified to C&G B certificate but for the last 20 years I have worked as a catering equipment service engineer.

I would now like to become a domestic electrician and wonder if my currents qualifications will suffice and or what other courses would you recommend bearing in mind I have no domestic installation experience at all.

What is todays's equivalent of C&G B certificate and do you think the 5 day courses will do for someone like me.

What is the best/fastest/most painless way I can become a domestic electrician?

Appreciating you all.

·
53 GONE AT LAST!
690 Posts
There will be some organisations out there that will gladly take your money and give you a piece of paper. As to it's worth? I really do not know. I would love to know what they teach on these courses; can anyone enlighten me??

Suggestion;- could you get a start with a local company that does a lot of house bashing, even as a labourer for a few months to see what is involved and how it is done??

Do you intend to be self employed or work for a firm?
Do you wish to do new and old or just one of them?

There is a minefield of paperwork, legislation insurance, public liability, HSE etc etc if you are to 'go it alone'

To be honest I am not really the best person to answer, but I am sure someone will be along shortly :thumbsup:

Good luck, I've not been here long myself

·
Registered
30 Posts