Electrician Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! Question about feeding commercial roof top equipment. Im fairly new to this so i was hoping to find some good help on here, Roof has the rubber membrane finish.

Equipment list:
MUA
RTU
Kitchen Exhaust Fan x 2
Condenser Units x 2
Service plug

Now I know I can stub pvc up with rubber cones and switch to liquid tight flex and strap to units to mount each disconnect, but I have been told its a waste of time you can feed most equipment without doing this and that you can drill down inside the unit to feed it later. And while ive seen this done on MUA's, how can I make sure I can with this particular MUA as well as other equipment.

I am suppose to prep my my stub ups before they put the membrane down so I just wondering how I can make sure I can feed the equipment after or should I just go feed everything with the pvc+rubber cone+ after liquid tight flex. Or is it that you can feed some equipment from inside after and some you cant.

If you have some pics id love to see! Thanks so much!

·
Estwing magic
25,095 Posts
Landlord may require that you hire a roofing guy. Most landlords I deal with have a specific company they deal with. If I got caught punching my own holes in a roof, it would be a bad day.

I normally have liquid tight whips ready underneath for when the roofing guy arrives. I’m not sure why they want stub ups prior to the membrane going down. It’s easy enough for the roofing guy to punch the hole and install the cone in one visit. I coordinate with the tin basher so all roof openings are done at the same time.

·
Registered
399 Posts
If it's all new...there may be a roof warranty...usually we would use a curb and box approach instead of roof jack .Easier to seal to membrane ...Cables leave box horizontally. Roof Jacks with electrical often leak ....and then it's your problem .

·
Registered
4,219 Posts