Electrician Talk banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,my name is Jordan and I am a grade 12 student. My plan has been to be an electrician before i started high school. I have taken 2 years of physics, 3 years of electrical techniques, 1 year of tutoring in the electrical program, 2 years of co-op (1 electrical, 1 general construction) which my hours went to OYAP and I have received honours in every class except physics. My question is, where do i go after school? Do i find an employer first and they set me up with the college or do i apply to college first? I have tried talking to my guidance counsellors but they just confuse me more. Also, how would i go about getting my masters? I really appreciate any answers. I know someone may comment on how I am not an electrician, yet, but i really do appreciate any positive responses. Thanks! :thumbup:

·
507 Posts
What province are you in? You sound like you have taken a pre-apprentice program so you need to find an employer to indenture you before you can sign up with a college.

·
Electrical Contractor
Trying to retire or at least slow down a bit, but life not cooperating
5,024 Posts
Once you have finished school, you have 2 choices.
#1 get hired on by a contractor, and then sometime in the future, you will go to technical collage for the various levels.
#2 Take a pre-apprenticeship program, and once you finish, hopefully be hired by a contractor.
Depending on the school, apprenticeship board etc etc, you may be given your first level of schooling and a set number of hours.

Depends who you talk to, there are various opinions on each choice.
There are many, many threads on this site, which discuss these opinions in great detail.
Good luck whichever choice you make.

·
Registered
5,448 Posts