Electrician Talk banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I'm Australian tradesman, beginning to apply for the Red Seal test. I was unaware there was a practical component to the test up until now.

I was an electrician for about 5-6 years in Australia, but havernt worked in Canada yet, I am a bit nervous as to what is actually examined? Will I know enough by Australian standards to pass the Red Seal? I've read a few outlines on what is tested, but is there something a little more in depth? Or at least someone who recently sat through the exam and can tell me what I will roughly need to know?

Cheers!!!

·
Registered
826 Posts
moorhs said:
Hey all, I'm Australian tradesman, beginning to apply for the Red Seal test. I was unaware there was a practical component to the test up until now. I was an electrician for about 5-6 years in Australia, but havernt worked in Canada yet, I am a bit nervous as to what is actually examined? Will I know enough by Australian standards to pass the Red Seal? I've read a few outlines on what is tested, but is there something a little more in depth? Or at least someone who recently sat through the exam and can tell me what I will roughly need to know? Cheers!!!
The vast majority of the interprovincial exam is code related. There are examples of wiring methods, crane signaling, high voltage equipment testing and other crazy stuff to throw a curveball at you. As long as you have good working knowledge of the CEC, you will be fine.

·
IBEW L.U. 1852
5,261 Posts
I have never seen or heard tell of a practical part to that exam. Its 100 questions....lots of code, safety questions, theory and a fair amount of motortheory and motor control theory. If you are getting ready for that Red Seal....hit the books hard and eat, sleep, drive, shower, poop and shave with that CEC in your hands.

Well............maybe not drive.:laughing:

Reactions: jza

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·