Electrician Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow electricians,
I have been an electrician for 18 years now. I started in the union and now I have my own small business. The hardest part for me is pricing the jobs. My question to you all out there is do you have specific price guides you go by and if so would it be possible for you to share them with me? I tend to price each job different but for the most part I keep some things the same like hanging light fixtures or adding a fan box in a room, but I think I am selling myself short and not pricing jobs right. I started doing it differently by asking for the customers email and writing up the estimate at home and emailing it to them because I always use to have a price in my head and once I looked at the customer I always said something lower.
I wrote this question in this forum because I have been really impressed with you electricians out there and the knowledge you have. This is a really great web site for people like me and I have gotten very good advice from it!! Thank you for your time!!
Dan
D E O Electric
Lockport, Illinois :thumbup:

·
Registered
132 Posts
Im the same way and have the same problem and while starting a small shop i do not have the clients to afford the $99 a month pricing guide. I found also getting there emails helps. This gives me the time to sit down and really think about it before I tell them. This also helps because I can get everything I need sorted out ahead of time.

·
Registered
7,335 Posts
Avoid giving prices in the field at all costs. Refocus the discussion on what the customer wants. If you know how much you charge per recp or to hang a fan, that's fine but it's always better to sit down with penile and paper and work out the costs, you are less likely to forget to charge for something that you are contracted to do.

·
Registered
2,219 Posts