Electrician Talk banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I'm a residential electrician of 11 years from Chicago (local 134) and I was considering moving out of state. The only problem is being a pipe bender from Chicago it is hard for me to leave behind my favorite part of the job by moving to a romex area. I've done several houses in romex and I am strongly in favor of the conduit system. From what I've learned so far Chicago and New York are the only areas in the US that bend pipe in residential. Is this true? are there any other areas that bend pipe?

Thanks for your time fellow electricians. :thumbsup:

·
Town Drunk
3,725 Posts
If you enjoy pipe bending, you would want to stick with commercial work around here. Little to zero conduit in houses.

·
Premium Member
Licensed Electrical Contractor
11,794 Posts
NY has almost nil conduit in a residence. Even down in NYC.
Mostly sleeves for protection down basement walls and such.

Most underground work is in PVC.

You want to bend pipe, do commercial work exclusively.

I get the best of both worlds.

·
Registered
10,626 Posts
Hey everyone, I'm a residential electrician of 11 years from Chicago (local 134) and I was considering moving out of state. The only problem is being a pipe bender from Chicago it is hard for me to leave behind my favorite part of the job by moving to a romex area. I've done several houses in romex and I am strongly in favor of the conduit system. From what I've learned so far Chicago and New York are the only areas in the US that bend pipe in residential. Is this true? are there any other areas that bend pipe?

Nix NY off your residential conduit list. Like others said, look for work in commercial and industrial settings. Emphasize you love of conduit work, you won't have a problem gaining employment.

·
Registered
1,037 Posts