Electrician Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I am located in Ontario Canada. I have my 309a, 442a, master, and contractors license. Most of my experience has been industrial and commercial and some residential. I am starting a one man electrical contractor business and I have a few questions about residential services.
1. For overhead mast(or standpipe) and underground, is everyone using RW90 black/sunlight resistant, #3 AWG copper for 100A and 2/0 for 200A.
2. On an overhead mast, since white RW90 is not sunlight resistant, is a bare neutral the norm or white tape on black wire
3. What is your ground electrode of choice if a metal water pipe system is not available, 2 ground rods interconnected OR 1 electrode plate?
4. If you are performing a service upgrade for someone from, say fuses to breakers and they have a disconnect before their breaker panel, do you prefer removing this disconnect alltogether because your new panel will have a main breaker anyways OR do you leave the old disconnect depending on its condition and just install the new panel with mainbreaker, and essentially have 2 disconnects for your service?

Sorry about the last long winded question. I would very much appreciate your input.

thank you

·
Registered
98 Posts
1. TW75 copper in the sizes you specified except a few are still using 3/0 cu.for a 200A and some I have worked for are using aluminum #2 and #4/0.
2. Aways white conductor, no tape, it is sunlight resistant.
3. Ground plate, can't remember the last time I pounded a ground rod on a res service.
4. Always remove disconnect and have local utility disconnect service or pull meter. Your unlicensed competition won't do this, among other things.

Good luck with your new business.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·