Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The MDP for a recreation center remodel pictured below. My shop tells me that we're gonna be taking out the existing buckets and and swapping out with new GE molded case circuit breakers? I've never done this before on old switchgear. The only thing is they tell me that they haven't got them approved yet. Was just curious if anyone has ever done anything like this on GE switchgear from the 70s and have anything helpful

Attachments

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Also have capacitors hooked into 3 pole. I myself am always learning with almost little help from foreman just talks bout personal life and no useful knowledge. But as long as that breaker is open during a shutdown of the whole system should read no voltage on bus bars? Or would there

·
RIP 1959-2015
10,750 Posts
Also have capacitors hooked into 3 pole. I myself am always learning with almost little help from foreman just talks bout personal life and no useful knowledge. But as long as that breaker is open during a shutdown of the whole system should read no voltage on bus bars? Or would there

There should be a main breaker for the gear, remember the wires that hit that breaker are always live unless it's shut off by the POCO, always check your self don't take anyone's word for it.

·
Premium Member
2,046 Posts
On the surface not a good idea . It looks to me that you would loose all the listing on the gear if your company is not a switchgear rebuilder. On the other hand if your company would but the whole unit and not just the breakers I would not have a problem with that.
For a contractor to put breakers in equipment that is designed for fuses without proper engineering and not having UL look at it NO WAY.

LC

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Lone Crapshooter said: