Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK I'm a starting out electrician it's more of a hobby than anything but I am on the path to becoming one because I've always been fascinated with the hands on work. I recently helped a friend change out all their BR-30 lights from incandescent over to LEDs. However all the bulbs kept going out so I finally decide to check out some of the electricity's characteristics. It's measuring at 280 volts when we all know it should be around 120. My question is how do you think something like this happened?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I think your buddy might be stealing electricity. You should call the poco. Might even get a citation.
Hahahah well they receive an electric bill every month so I don't think that's it. I've seen the bills. Any other ideas?

·
Registered
122 Posts
Man...whoever did the installation dumped too many buckets of volts into those fixtures.

You may have to get an air compressor and blast some out until you get down to 120.

·
Registered
1,437 Posts
OK I'm a starting out electrician it's more of a hobby than anything but I am on the path to becoming one because I've always been fascinated with the hands on work. I recently helped a friend change out all their BR-30 lights from incandescent over to LEDs. However all the bulbs kept going out so I finally decide to check out some of the electricity's characteristics. It's measuring at 280 volts when we all know it should be around 120. My question is how do you think something like this happened?
What kind of establishment is this?

·
animal lover /rat bastard
13,547 Posts
ridiculous. and fascinating. fascinating and ridiculous.

·
Registered
108 Posts
There's an electron dial on the back side of the panel, turn that down a few notches.

Or, the neutral got lost and there's no afci. Ish.

·
Registered
1,054 Posts