Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whats up everyone. I just find this site and i have a ton of heavy questions. First of all, let me tell you a little bit about myself. I'm a really green rookie. In to weeks I'll be finishing IBT's (Institute for Business Technology) 9 month Electrical program and I have 4 months commercial non-union exp. I love the trade. My first question is. Whats Better union or non-union? Regardless of the economy what are the pro and con of both union and non-union work?

·
Registered
102 Posts
Whats up everyone. I just find this site and i have a ton of heavy questions. First of all, let me tell you a little bit about myself. I'm a really green rookie. In to weeks I'll be finishing IBT's (Institute for Business Technology) 9 month Electrical program and I have 4 months commercial non-union exp. I love the trade. My first question is. Whats Better union or non-union? Regardless of the economy what are the pro and con of both union and non-union work?
Welcome Rookie.. oh you will get advice here...

So it is all what you make of it. Do your research. I would say it really depends on where you live and what kinda of work you want to do. San Jose is a nice area and the IBEW is well represented there. I dont know what the work out look is like out there but if its like most every where else its difficult at best. But do your research, and make a informed decision. I personally think the benefits, money and working conditions are better working union. But that is not completely true nationwide. There are areas of the country where non union electricians make more money. There are politics in any job be it union or non union. Good luck.

http://www.ibew.org/

·
Registered
3 Posts
union vs non-union

[/quote