Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have little experience using a root hammer or demo hammer for driving ground rods. I have always used fence post pounders and sledge hammers.
But, I don't have time for pounding and hurting my hands anymore.

What is the minimum ft/lbs and amps for a roto-hammer or demo-hammer, that you experienced electricians recommend for driving 8' ground rods.

I am looking at Bosch roto-hammer, 10 amps, 5.4 ft/lbs of driving force
Or, Harbor Freight Demo-hammer, 10 amps, 9 ft/lbs of driving force.

What models do you use?

Thanks guys.

·
RIP 1959-2015
39,618 Posts
I have little experience using a root hammer or demo hammer for driving ground rods. I have always used fence post pounders and sledge hammers.

What is the minimum ft/lbs and amps for a roto-hammer or demo-hammer, that you experienced electricians recommend for driving 8' ground rods.

What models do you use?

Thanks guys.

http://www.grainger.com/product/3HY...3HY58&[email protected]@:20140116011904:s

·
Banned
15,674 Posts

What models do you use?

Thanks guys.
Just used a Bosch SDS max hammer drill model #11240 ($360 for hammer drill on Amazon, bit for driving ground rod $55) to drive a ground rod into the frozen ground. It Did a great job. Work smarter not harder.

·
Electrical Contractor
9,325 Posts
Hilti has a great customer service and a great warranty plan. Like I said, it's expensive but you don't buy the same tool 4 times.
Why do you need a customer service plan or a warranty if you're buying a quality tool??? In my opinion, bigger is better!:thumbsup:
I've got the Bosch 11316EVS Demo hammer.
Bought it off a retiring electrician for $250 (bit included) It makes driving ground rods fun!
14 amps
4.4 - 18 ft. lbs.

Attachments

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·