Electrician Talk banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been assigned to find an off grid security camera set up to monitor a 13 acre construction site. Cameras must be DC powered, which I think most are. DC will come from batteries and solar modules, and the system must be accessible via the Internet. And as usual I must keep the cost to a minimum. Any input is appreciated. Thanks.

·
Coffee drinking member
I pretwist and then use wire nuts. Solder pots rule.
14,162 Posts
cc2kj said:
I've been assigned to find an off grid security camera set up to monitor a 13 acre construction site. Cameras must be DC powered, which I think most are. DC will come from batteries and solar modules, and the system must be accessible via the Internet. And as usual I must keep the cost to a minimum. Any input is appreciated. Thanks.

Cheap & easy access?
I have been using ICam for a few years. Take a look at their website for more info. Works with IPhone and Android.
You pick and provide the cameras, I even use my laptops and a recessed wall mounted computer in my kitchen.
It's even how I filmed the windshield company damage my Jeep.

Attachments

·
Registered
163 Posts
Cheap & easy access?
I have been using ICam for a few years. Take a look at their website for more info. Works with IPhone and Android.
You pick and provide the cameras, I even use my laptops and a recessed wall mounted computer in my kitchen.
It's even how I filmed the windshield company damage my Jeep.
What kind of Jeep? haha

·
Registered
880 Posts

What you are asking for is not so easy. 13 acres will take a lot of cheap cameras or a few really good ones. I would recommend one of the many companies that set up a rental system for you:

http://www.truelook.com/construction-cameras/?gclid=CKGQqI-pp7wCFQt1QgodXBQADQ

You can also ask on this site, might take a day or two to get answers. There's a guy goes by "Buellwinkle" who knows his stuff:

http://www.networkcameracritic.com/