Electrician Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How long it takes you to remove a fuse panel and install a new breaker panel? Do you have any tips to improve my speed doing this.

I usualy cut the power
2. Identify white wires onto the fuse (240v circuit),
3. Remove every wire from the old panel,
4. Remove main wire,
5. REmove old panel,
6. taking mesurement on new panel and install it into place,
7. Filling the new panel back, add junction if wire are too shorts.

My 2 last panel upgrade were not the fastest. Boss telling was long. This is why I ask because I'm a first year apprentice. Thank you

Sorry for poor English, This forum keep teaching me English. lol

·
Registered
11,762 Posts
One of the biggest helpers are white sticky tags. Circuit designation (if already known), amps and then any special marking such as a GFI or AFCI breaker. Never assume breaker size by wire gauge, always double check the old. I have found #12 on 15 amps, a 20 would be in place until I find it latter splices down to a #14.

·
RIP 1959-2015
39,618 Posts
How long it takes you to remove a fuse panel and install a new breaker panel? Do you have any tips to improve my speed doing this.

I usualy cut the power
2. Identify white wires onto the fuse (240v circuit),
3. Remove every wire from the old panel,
4. Remove main wire,
5. REmove old panel,
6. taking mesurement on new panel and install it into place,
7. Filling the new panel back, add junction if wire are too shorts.

My 2 last panel upgrade were not the fastest. Boss telling was long. This is why I ask because I'm a first year apprentice. Thank you

Sorry for poor English, This forum keep teaching me English. lol
As a first year,you will take longer,so as long as you work the whole time you're there don't worry.

Remember,no matter how hard you work,you will always be told you're slow.

Work at a steady pace and make no mistakes and you'll be fine.