Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Apprentice at a small shop. Came in to work today and was sent home. boss said things were slow. There are maybe 5 apprentices, and I don't think any of them went home today. Not sure if I should be concerned about the situation.

Is it common for an apprentice to get a day off when things are slow?

·
Estwing magic
27,400 Posts
Unless you got rained out or your boss got a last minute phone call of a delayed job start, there isn't a good reason to send a guy home after he has already arrived at work. Doesn't he have to pay you a few hours just for showing up anyway?

I can relate it to when I was an apprentice. I was having a great time working with good guys but there were rumors that the company was having financial problems. I decided to look around and found another job. Two months later my previous employer went bankrupt. It was a good thing for me. I left residential, got into commercial and eventually went industrial. I got lots of different experience by working for different contractors.

·
RIP 1959-2015
10,750 Posts
Here it is 3 hours.

You should be concerned, make sure you're doing your best each day and do not be afraid to ask if there are ways to improve, just watch out for abusive behavior such as your too slow when you know you are getting just as much done as the next guy, do not be afraid to look for a better job as well, if your boss is not keeping you busy , it is either he is a poor manager, or, he does not like you or is abusive to all of his guys.

Good luck I hope it works out for you:thumbsup:

·
Registered
Arsholeprentice
7,404 Posts
From what I hear Texas is busy.....I would start looking before this turns into a common thing.

·
Premium Member
20,046 Posts
I've done that plenty of time when I ran work.
Don't take it too personal.