Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys

I am a first year apprentice with experience in new house construction (8 months) and commercial rénovations (3 months, lighting, basic conduit running) from Alberta. I put my apprenticeship on hiatus for a few years to travel. I am returning to the trade in Quebec (I know, I know lol). I can get my hours moved on the condition that I attend trade school here, its a bit longer than AB school but no biggie. Im with a company doing 6 hour mornings and some saturdays, its a big site with a laid back crew headed by vets who have 10+ years experience with each other and a combined 100+ in the trade. Its a big exciting site, all the bells and whistles of a state of the art data center.

Problem is im pretty much answering to another first year who has been on site and out of school for six months. He is a cool cabable guy but has done nothing but push broom and run product to JW's for that whole six months. no pipe, no screwdriver, hasnt even twisted a ****ing wirenut.

I know new guys have to take their licks but ive been vacuuming for two weeks and seriously considering jumping ship to a company half or a quarter the size where I know at least a third of what I do will be skills related and will have some sort or training program, banking on the idea that if I wanna run with the big dogs again, and stick my head in big chungus transformers and generators, the oportunity will come again later.

if you've read up to here, Id like to know what yall think? for refence quebec is a union province with demand greatly outpacing the labour force.

Edit 1: I Want to add that I dont think I'm being treated unfairly, Im noob. I wouldn't Want apprentices running the show either' that just the stage/way the job is being run. Just wondering if I should jump the offer of greener pastures for a learner. :)

·
Registered
36th year apprentice & Floor Sweeper
1,593 Posts