Electrician Talk banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! Apologies for my lack of technical wording as I am not an electrician by any means nor do I have any electrical education except from YouTube so bear with me but I thought I would ask here from people that know what they are talking about! :) I am currently building my own skoolie bus conversion and I want to make sure I avoid any issues with wiring and any fire risk and such. As a note, I am located in the US so I will be referencing what we use here. Not concerned much about if it is up to code as much as I am just from a safety perspective.

QUESTION:
I have a 1500w Aims Power pure sine wave inverter for my house plugs around the vehicle and long story short, the inverter does not have any lugs for me to directly connect a AC Load Center (using a Square D 100A load center w/ 6 slots). It does however just have two female 3 prong 120v sockets on the back with the little “test” buttons above each socket. My thought is to use a Romex plug and give power to the load center that way (I am using the typical yellow Romex wire with 2 hots and a ground). There are two sockets so my thought is between these two options:

Option 1: use both AC Out sockets w Romex plugs from the inverter and use one plug to power one side of the bus bar in the Load Center and use the other plug to power the other side bus bar in the load center and then connecting both neutrals at the neutral lug in the load center.

Option 2: use one AC Out plug to energize one side of the bus bar and then taking a 2 pole breaker and essentially looping/jumping it to act as a main breaker and energize the other bus Bar