Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hope someone on this forum can help. I’m not an electrician, but a Con Ed customer with a bill problem.

Since Con Ed installed my Smart Meter, my average monthly billed usage has increased dramatically, from 48 to 107 kWh per month. My actual usage has not changed an iota. Con Ed says the Smart Meter readings are correct and that my old meter was defective. I could accept their argument if the difference in meter readings were moderate. But the discrepancy is so great, and I use so little electricity that I think something is amiss with the Smart Meter. Below is a quick rundown of my devices and usage.

fridge (0.02 kWh actual wattage draw, per Smart Meter)
mid-2011, 21-½ inch MAC computer
LED bulbs (five 9W, two 6.6W, and one 27W bulb)
one 60W incandescent bulb
toaster oven
modem/router
phone and answering machine

The fridge and modem/router are on 24/7. I use the toaster oven for 5-6 hours per month, and the incandescent bulb for 10 hours. The 6.6W LED bulbs are on, very roughly, for 10 hours; the 9W and 27W for about 13-14 hours. I turn off all lights behind me and pull all plugs when devices aren’t in use.

I would even agree that my usage might be more than 45 kWh per month, but I don’t see how it could be as high as 110 kWh. What do the experts think?

Thanks,
Tamara

·
Super Moderator
Pres., GPS Timers
6,759 Posts
107 kWh is not much consumption at all.
I agree with ConEd.

Since you're not asking DIY I'm going to allow the thread even though you're not an electrician.
You may also find support over at our sister site www.DIYChatroom.com where there are plenty of people over there who would enjoy discussing your situation.

Have a nice day.

·
Registered
Residential remodeling
185 Posts