Electrician Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
To give some background on the story i am telling.
As most here know I was a Safety Trainer for a small contractor in central Florida before I became the South East Region Training Manager for a Large Electrical Contractor.

In late 06-early 07 we had a helper who was working in our street lighting division who came in contact with 277v in a hand hole. It was late in the day, he could not get the gel cap closed so he took off his class II gloves and grabbed the gel cap, the injury was a 3rd degree burn to his hand. He was already given OSHA Electrical, extensive NFPA70 E, and various other classes on the hazards yet in a moment he forgot all of that in a rush to go home and was injured. After the injury I gave him all of the electrical safety training again to ensure he understood, he assured me that he would never again put his safety in question.
I left that company in Sept. and keep track of the guys I have trained, I heard he had also left to work for a sign company. Yesterday I got an e-mail from my old Safety Director.

Friday, February 01, 2008 12:56:48 AM
The Medical Examiner’s Office is now trying to figure out what happened to a workman who was found dead at an Ormond Beach Lowe’s.
Investigators said (name Removed), 20, of Kissimmee was working in an elevated bucket on a light pole Thursday in the parking lot of the store when he suddenly slumped over.
A worker called out to him, but received no response.
He was taken to Florida Hospital Ormond Memorial where he was later pronounced dead.
At this point, the cause of death is unknown.

It has been determined that he was electrocuted. I do not know specifics.