Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am building a new house for myself, I am an industrial electrician but I have wired a couple of houses a few years back, but things seem to be changing fast. I would just like a few opinions on a couple of things.

1- Last house I wired for each bedroom I installed the receptacles on dedicated Arc fault breakers and then shared the lighting circuit between two rooms on a standard breaker. According to sask power amendments only receptacles have to be on the arc faults. With modern arc fault breakers is their any reason why I can not include the lighting and receptacles for each room on the same arc fault breaker without nuisance tripping? I don't want to separate the lighting as I have done in the past.

2-What is the common practice for bathrooms and on suites. Run a dedicated 12awg for the TSLOTs and another 14 awg for lighting? Or combine all on the 20A circuit.
For the on suite I could also put the bathroom lighting on with the room lighting and then add another circuit for the gfcis.

3-More of a rant,In the amendments we now need CO/smoke detectors ( I am running gas appliances) in each bed room and outside of them within 5 meters, in my little 1400 ft2 home I need 7 dectectors, kind of crazy, I wanted those neat little NEST detectors but at $150 each I guess this rule is going to force me into the cheapo kidde ones.

·
Banned
7,221 Posts
1. The only thing you can't put on the arc fault is the smoke detector power.. but honestly, I would just separate. It's probably going to cause you grief sooner or later.

2. I think running #12 and then tapping off with a #14 is common in the states, not common in Canada. I usually go cheap on the bathroom power, because code lets me. If it were my own house, I would run a dedicated circuit for each bathroom receptacle and run the lights/fans off some other circuit.