Electrician Talk banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I am a first year apprentice with a very small company. I work with a great licensed electrician who teaches me a lot and I get along great with him. The only problem is that I don't get paid much and there are no benefits with my company. I applied for an apprentice position with CLP resources which from what I read is a staffing agency. They pay better and their reviews are good online. Has anyone dealt with an agency in their experiences? What are the pros and cons for an apprentice looking to possibly join one?

·
Registered
467 Posts
That's a 1099 position I believe, which means you're self employed for tax purposes, meaning you pay taxes as if you were a business owner, which means twice the amount of taxes you'd normally pay if you worked FOR someone else.

Also, keep in mind, as a 1099 worker you're self-employed, so you don't get any workman's comp if you get injured on the job.

They don't provide health or any other kind of insurance either.

The extra pay sounds nice, but in the long run CLP and Tradesource, etc aren't very good places for long-term employment. Fine if you just want hours for your journeyman. I wouldn't consider them career type agencies though

·
Retired Account
39,697 Posts
That's a 1099 position I believe, which means you're self employed for tax purposes, meaning you pay taxes as if you were a business owner, which means twice the amount of taxes you'd normally pay if you worked FOR someone else.

Also, keep in mind, as a 1099 worker you're self-employed, so you don't get any workman's comp if you get injured on the job.

They don't provide health or any other kind of insurance either.

The extra pay sounds nice, but in the long run CLP and Tradesource, etc aren't very good places for long-term employment. Fine if you just want hours for your journeyman. I wouldn't consider them career type agencies though