Electrician Talk banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,460 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want start a company just by myself and I am not sure if I should start it as a LLC? What did you guys do? Are there pros and cons when using a LLC, natural name, or trade name?

·
Senile Member
I make all the electrons line up for their Flu shots
30,871 Posts
LegalZoom .com $99 bucks LLC

Reactions: flyboy

·
Registered
Scada Supervisor
2,270 Posts
Ask a lawyer

I worked as a sole proprietor with general liability insurance for years. In Pa. if you don't use your full name in the title you had to apply for a fictitious name ($70). But I would ask a lawyer nowadays with all the sue happy people out there, a LLC may be the way to go, (my wife’s nephew is being sued for hitting a fence, and the peoples house he came from. It was a DUI but traumatic experience for a fence come on)

·
Registered
5,669 Posts
Go with an accountant. Your gonna need one if your successful, might as well start off on the right foot.

·
Mad Skills
5,803 Posts
Everyone's situation and goals are different...seek help from an accountant.

There a few threads floating around that cover your question:
http://www.electriciantalk.com/search.php?searchid=3764074
http://www.electriciantalk.com/search.php?searchid=3764089

You would do well to read them and maybe revive one.

I just tried those links, they don't work.

Nope. They don't.
They were just keyword searches for 4 letter words like "sole"..as in Sole Proprietor...LLC might come up in the search, but 3 letter words usually do not.

·
Senile Member
I make all the electrons line up for their Flu shots
30,871 Posts
Yeah, Legal Zoom is a great way to go. Although I'm a better safe than sorry guy, so speaking to an attorney and/or an accountant is a good idea too.