Electrician Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all. Im 25 years old and I am currently working for a city in the bay area california. I work as a mechanic at a water plant and make about 55k a year which is starting. I have been here 6 months and after 2 years I will top out at 60k. Im wondering if any electricians in the bay area would reccomend either the IBEW local 6 or Local 617 as appose to keeping my city job where I never get laid off, have holidays, full benefits, sick time, Cal-Pers pension and all those perks? Unfortunately although I would truly love to pursue being an electrician I cannot find any literature on what the IBEW pensions are like. Also when you are in the union do you have to drive from job site to job site? These are all things I am trying to take into consideration. Thank you all for your time!

·
RIP 1959-2015
39,618 Posts
Hey all. Im 25 years old and I am currently working for a city in the bay area california. I work as a mechanic at a water plant and make about 55k a year which is starting. I have been here 6 months and after 2 years I will top out at 60k. Im wondering if any electricians in the bay area would reccomend either the IBEW local 6 or Local 617 as appose to keeping my city job where I never get laid off, have holidays, full benefits, sick time, Cal-Pers pension and all those perks? Unfortunately although I would truly love to pursue being an electrician I cannot find any literature on what the IBEW pensions are like. Also when you are in the union do you have to drive from job site to job site? These are all things I am trying to take into consideration. Thank you all for your time!
happypuppy

Stay happypuppy stay, stay, stay, stay, stay, stay, stay, stay!

Unless you have GOT TOO become an electrician, happypuppy stay, stay, stay, stay, stay, stay, stay, stay!