Electrician Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a quick question that I couldn not find the answer of. Why are the synchronus motors capable of running at any power factor hence used in pfc? Please a logical explanation since I'm no expert.

·
AKA Luketrician
584 Posts
These motors are capable of adjusting their slip, sometimes referred to as a slip-guard relay. Increases or decreases the excitation field voltage..the greater the voltage, the rotor will tend to lead, and lessening of the field voltage, will cause the rotor to lag the stator field. I think in delmars book, it calls this the rubber band effect, cause if the lag is great enough, the out-of step relay will trip the motor.

In a nutshell, the ability for the synchronous motor to lead the stator field ( by using the field adjustment rheostat on the exciter), acts just like a capacitor does, and will improve the overall pF.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I know that, I know that when overexcited they will give ractive power and when they are underexcited they will absorb reactive power. But I don't understand the reason why this happens :D

Is it because when subexcited the rotor tends to catch up with the rotating magnetic field so it will require more reactive power and when it's overexcited it wants to slow down to reach the speed of the rotating magnetic field so it lets some of it's ractive power go??? Is that the explanation?

·
Registered
5,403 Posts
Think of it this way. If it were an induction motor, the current will always lag the voltage, because the rotor excitation must come FROM being induced by the stator fields FIRST. Therefore because torque is created by slip, and slip is the result of that time lag, the PF is always lagging because the active power must be there first in order to create the reactive power.