Electrician Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I’m a newbie in the trade first year. So to wire this table saw to work properly(115 volts) I would need a 20 amp plug and 20 amp breaker right? With 12/2 wire?

·
Bilge Rat
motors and controls.........
7,508 Posts
I'd use a 30 and #12. Yes, it's code compliant. Since you're an apprentice, you should have access to a codebook so you can look at articles 430 and 240 to see that using #12 with a 30 amp breaker is legal with a motor.

That motor doesn't have any overload protection. Article 430 states that O/L is required so you'll need to provide it separately. A single phase motor starting switch with O/L built in would be the easiest. I usually use the Square D 2510 class.

·
Super Moderator
Elechicken!
3,553 Posts
I'd use a 30 and #12. Yes, it's code compliant. Since you're an apprentice, you should have access to a codebook so you can look at articles 430 and 240 to see that using #12 with a 30 amp breaker is legal with a motor.

That motor doesn't have any overload protection. Article 430 states that O/L is required so you'll need to provide it separately. A single phase motor starting switch with O/L built in would be the easiest. I usually use the Square D 2510 class.
OP is in Canada...

·
Super Moderator
Elechicken!
3,553 Posts
Hey guys I’m a newbie in the trade first year. So to wire this table saw to work properly(115 volts) I would need a 20 amp plug and 20 amp breaker right? With 12/2 wire? View attachment 154062
Please take a few minutes to fill out your profile. Here's a link to help you do this quickly.
Thank you.

·
Registered
Electrical Contractor
138 Posts
I'd use a 30 and #12. Yes, it's code compliant. Since you're an apprentice, you should have access to a codebook so you can look at section 28 to see that using #12 with a 30 amp breaker is legal with a motor.