Electrician Talk banner

Teck cable ran on a fence

CEC 
10K views 33 replies 16 participants last post by  wiz1997 
#1 ·
CEC 12-602 / 12-902 I’m an industrial electrician, but in a commercial setting in a car dealership an owner was asking how much it would cost to run Teck cable around his chain link fence (270 feet) to throw in a 30 amp plug or install a 60 amp sub panel. I of course told him he will be cutting concrete and going underground as I’m doubtful directional drilling is cheap for the 20 feet of concrete.
Is running Teck on a fence through conduit meet the cec requirements even though you need to free air the cable for a bit for rule 12-902(2)ii

#2 ·
Zen: Ask the fence if it is going to be ok.

My experience: Fence along a canal to keep people from falling in, not too bad, ran rigid conduit on that before and it's still there after thirty years. Still working.

Fence along parking lot- In under four years enough cars backed into the fence to cause the threads to get pulled out of the couplings in a couple of places and the wires got exposed. They were only RG-11 coax so no shock hazard , but it was a bad idea to run along the fence instead of trench and bury. (Customer wanted cheap route).

#4 ·
CEC 12-602 / 12-902 I’m an industrial electrician, but in a commercial setting in a car dealership an owner was asking how much it would cost to run Teck cable around his chain link fence (270 feet) to throw in a 30 amp plug or install a 60 amp sub panel. I of course told him he will be cutting concrete and going underground as I’m doubtful directional drilling is cheap for the 20 feet of concrete.
Is running Teck on a fence through conduit meet the cec requirements even though you need to free air the cable for a bit for rule 12-902(2)ii
Why run it in conduit?

#5 ·