Electrician Talk banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all and thank you in advance for viewing this post,

I'm an electrical engineering graduate student at Cal Poly in San Luis Obispo. I'm doing research using a 3-phase 15kVA Dry-Type transformer. The transformer came with a delta high and delta low connection. The high side winding is solid aluminum (round) conductor. The low side winding is solid aluminum (strip/bar) conductor. The winding connections were originally made by the manufacture by welding them to aluminum mechanical connection blocks. The supply and load wires were connected using a screwed compression fitting.

For my research I need to break the winding connections so that I can terminate them to wire and connect them as I please (delta/wye; wye/wye; etc.). I realize that depending on how I connect them the rated line current will change and I've calculated that. I ended up cutting the conductors as close to the weld as I could. I would like to terminate all of these conductors with a ring tounge lug so that I could create the desired winding connections using a terminal block mounted on the side of the transformer panel.

The problem I'm having is finding the right type of lug/connector to terminate the strip/bar shaped winding. The strip is about 1/16" thick by 3/16" wide. I'm sure I can find a lug to crimp onto the round conductor (about 10AWG) but all my google searches for the bar winding are coming up empty. Any suggestions? I'm thinking I may have to machine my own mechanical compression lug.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Ariel

·
Donuts > Fried Eggs
17,042 Posts
If this is a temporary project transformer and will never be left unattended, just use a regular mechanical lug. It will be good enough for the low current you're dealing with.

In the field these connections are made by brazing on copper shunts; I don't know of a mechanical method designed to terminate a winding like that.

·