Electrician Talk banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can any one help, I have been asked to carry out a periodic test and inspection, the installation is in a domestic dwelling, and it is about 20 years old, the consumer unit is a standard wylex 8 way board with no RCD fitted.
I am still a bit of a novice with the testing and I am not sure whether I should recommend that an RCD be installed. If this was a new installation it would have at least one.
Also do I need to make any comments on the certificate such as details of departures
Or is it ok for an installation of this age to carry on without an RCD installed.

·
junior member UK
156 Posts
In my opinion it should be listed as a code 2 defect requiring improvement,
but other peple might say code 4 because it may of complied at the time it was installed.
But in line with the 17th i think (personally) i think it should be listed as a defect as there are unprotected socket outlets.

·
53 GONE AT LAST!
690 Posts
Tricky one. There are firms around here who would put it as a 1 or 2; put fear of God up the client and stress how dangerous it was/is. Then charge them an arm and a leg for making it safe:jester: Depends on which edition you are testing it to and what the client wants.

Personally I would put it as a 4 [or my favourite but yet to be instigated '5'.....doesn't comply yet, just give it a few weeks] and advise your recomendations in the notes section, stressing the safety aspect without worrying the client unneccesarily

·
Registered
2 Posts
the decision i would say is a personal one