Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do I need a tool belt as a residential or construction electrician? I have been thinking about purchasing a Klein Tradesman Pro suspender rig belt. I am a new apprentice and was wondering if seasoned vets commonly use a tool belt (?) Thank You.

·
Registered
3,528 Posts
Why don't you just get a tool belt that costs 1/4 what the one costs at somewhere like Lowes?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I just want to make sure it lasts. I was talking to friend who has been in the union for 15 yrs, and he said he doesnt wear a tool belt; that he just keeps his tools in his pockets (??)

·
Registered
3,528 Posts
Well I can't speak for everyone but when I did some residential I had a large metal tool chest that I could lock where the majority of my tools, then I had my tool belt where I would keep the tools I would need for the day on me.

I just view it as a time saver and my tool belt that I use right now was about $30 or so, I don't see it wearing out any time soon.

·
RIP 1959-2015
39,618 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
I've had the same tool pouch setup for 7 years it's made up of all kuny stuff at Home depo. But I don't ware it when I work it's more for transport

·
Registered
272 Posts