Electrician Talk banner

What is your tool box preference?

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've seen journeymen use three different style of toolboxes, and as I'm still relatively new to the trade, I'm trying to work out which style would be best for me over the next 30 years. I've come up with a list of advantages and disadvantages of each style, and would appreciate your input.

Steel box:

This is the "Traditional" electrician's tool box that was on my tool list, and therefore is the type I'm currently using. These come in two styles; the flat top, and the hip roof top. I contend that the hip roof top style offers greater overall strength, and am not aware of any advantages of the flat top. I prefer these with a steel handle, plastic handles tend to break.

Advantages:
-Lockable
-Reasonably waterproof when used in wet locations
-Tend to last a long time
-Great surface for adhering stickers
-Tools stay secured during transport
-Repairable

Disadvantages:
-Heavy
-Tools lay horizontally, have to "Dig" for tools
-Difficult to keep tools and parts organized

Plastic box:

I've seen more sparkies bring their "Rubbermaid" boxes to the job site. In spite of the disparaging "Rubbermaid" remarks, they swear by them. Here are the pros and cons as I've observed:

Advantages:
-Lightweight
-Waterproof
-Lockable
-Okay surface for adhering stickers
-Tools stay secure during transport
-Bins and clever design keeps tools and materials better organized

Disadvantages:
-Hinges don't last very long
-Doesn't last as long as other tool boxes
-Not as secure as a steel box
-Tools are horizontal, still have to "Dig" for tools

Nylon open tote tool bag:

I'm surprised by the increasing popularity of the nylon tote. When I first saw one, I figured the journeyman was eccentric; but I've been seeing them increase in popularity. They are starting to grow on me.

Advantages:
-Lightweight
-Some come with shoulder strap to facilitate carrying